Difference between revisions of "Test Wiki:Admin school"

From Test Wiki
 
Line 17: Line 17:
  
 
===Block button (note: Use with care!!!)===
 
===Block button (note: Use with care!!!)===
 +
The block button allows you to stop users from editing in certain ways. It must not be used on a good user without their permission. You can use it for vandals or spammers, as well as edit warrers. You can block your own accounts here for testing. Many users create a test account for this. There are many options when blocking. Firstly, you can stop a user from editing specific pages. This is useful for someone who is edit warring on a page. Otherwise, you can do a sitewide block. This stops the user from editing all pages except their talk page.
 +
 +
There are three options under here:
 +
*Account creation - this stops a user from creating another account.
 +
*Sending email - this stops a user from using the "email this user" fuction. Useful if the user has been abusing this fuction, but should otherwise be left unticked.
 +
*Editing their own talk page - this stops a user from editing their own page. Is useful if the user is vandalising their talk page. Usually is left unticked until needed.
 +
 +
You can specify a time underneath. The "indefinite" choice means the user will not be unblocked until an admin does so; it will not expire on its own. There is also an "autoblock" function underneath. This blocks the last ip used by the user and any other ips the user uses while logged into the account after. Usually is left ticked.

Latest revision as of 16:42, 21 July 2020

This page is meant to show testwiki.wiki administrators how to use their shiny new tools, including the manage user groups, delete, revision delete (“revdel”) and block buttons. There are many more buttons, you may wish to go to Special:ListGroupRights and look under the “administrators” section to see all the user rights admins have.

Managing user groups

Administrators can manage a few user groups, including Autopatrol, Patroller, and a few others. If you are an admin, you can do this by going to a user’s userpage and clicking “change user groups” on the left-hand side. You can set how long you want the user to have the right, or you can choose to have it never expire. It’s up to you. A good idea is to create a second account to test these user rights on. Then you can see what the different rights do.

Important: If you are an admin and you want to manage your own user rights, DO NOT uncheck “sysop” in your list. You will NOT be able to re-add it, and will be stuck as a normal user until someone can fix this for you. User:^sithjarjar^, the creator of this school, made That Mistake once. It was embarrassing.

Delete/Undelete button

These buttons allow you to delete or undelete a page.

Revision deletion (“revdel”)

The revision deletion feature (“revdel”) allows you to hide certain revisions of a page. You can either delete the edit summary, the edit itself, or the person who performed the edit. If you use revdel, the revision is hidden to all regular users, but admins, crats, and Stewards can stil see them.

To delete a revision, click the check mark next to it, then click the “change visibility of selected revisions” button, which is right above the page history. Then, you will be taken into a menu, where you can choose how to hide the revision. If you’re just testing the feature, make sure to put “test” in the edit summary to avoid confusion. You should then un-hide the revision, unless you have a reason other than testing purposes to hide it. However, if that is the case, you should use an appropriate edit summary.

Protecting/Unprotecting pages

Block button (note: Use with care!!!)

The block button allows you to stop users from editing in certain ways. It must not be used on a good user without their permission. You can use it for vandals or spammers, as well as edit warrers. You can block your own accounts here for testing. Many users create a test account for this. There are many options when blocking. Firstly, you can stop a user from editing specific pages. This is useful for someone who is edit warring on a page. Otherwise, you can do a sitewide block. This stops the user from editing all pages except their talk page.

There are three options under here:

  • Account creation - this stops a user from creating another account.
  • Sending email - this stops a user from using the "email this user" fuction. Useful if the user has been abusing this fuction, but should otherwise be left unticked.
  • Editing their own talk page - this stops a user from editing their own page. Is useful if the user is vandalising their talk page. Usually is left unticked until needed.

You can specify a time underneath. The "indefinite" choice means the user will not be unblocked until an admin does so; it will not expire on its own. There is also an "autoblock" function underneath. This blocks the last ip used by the user and any other ips the user uses while logged into the account after. Usually is left ticked.